General Shareholders’ Meeting

EPV Energy Ltd’s highest authority is vested in the General Shareholders’ Meeting, which elects the Board and makes decisions in statutory issues, as well as in other issues specifically defined in the Articles of Association. In 2017, the General Shareholders’ Meeting assembled once.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the company’s administration and for organising the company’s operation according to the law, Articles of Association and the decisions of the General Shareholders’ Meeting. The Board also supervises the company’s operation and administration and makes decisions on company strategy, operational policy, significant investments and financing. The Board is elected for one year at a time in an Ordinary General Meeting. The Board has 10–12 ordinary members and five deputy members. The deputy members have the right to attend General Meetings. The Chairman of the Board is nominated by the largest shareholder. The Vice Chairman is nominated by the Board.

Ordinary Members of the Board:

• Juha Häkkinen, CEO
• Miapetra Kumpula-Natri, Member of the European Parliament (Chairman of the Board)
• Hannu Linna, CEO
• Pekka Manninen, CEO (Vice Chairman of the Board)
• Mikko Rajala, Energy Director
• Jorma Rasinmäki, Mayor
• Anders Renvall, CEO
• Joakim Strand, Member of the Parliament
• Markku Vartia, Director
• Jukka Ylitalo, CEO

Deputy Members of the Board:

• Olli Arola, Director
• Ahti Källi, CEO
• Martti Haapamäki, CEO
• Jari Lepistö, CEO
• Janne Rouvinen, CEO

CEO and Management Team

The company’s CEO is Rami Vuola (MSc) and his Deputy CEO is Director of Finance Markku Källström (MSc Economics and BEng). The Management Team also includes the following members:

• Sami Kuitunen (MSc)
• Frans Liski (MSc)
• Reima Neva (MSc)
• Niko Paaso (MSc)
• Mats Söderlund (MSc)

Subsidiary management

The subsidiaries and partnership companies belonging to the EPV Energy Ltd Group have their own administrative bodies, in the management and supervision of which EPV actively participates.


The audit firm Ernst & Young Oy has been selected as the Ordinary Auditors of EPV, with
• Mikko Rytilahti (CA) and Tatu Huhtala (CA) as the main responsible Auditors and
• Anders Svennas (CA) and Kristian Berg (CA) as Vice Auditors


Maintaining the know-how of the EPV Energy Group’s personnel plays a key role in ensuring the continuous development of our operations. The personnel’s job satisfaction has been regularly examined through various staff surveys, and the results of these surveys have shown clearly higher job satisfaction than the average of other energy sector organisations. The results are better in all questions for which reference material concerning the energy sector is available.

The causes of job satisfaction include, for example, good tools, occupational safety and the physical working environment. The personnel are mainly satisfied with their own work and they respect the work of their supervisors. In addition, they consider EPV Energy an excellent employer.

The key tasks of our personnel:

• Power procurement and balance management
• Efficient management of power plant assets
• Optimal network operations
• Developing new business models

The targets of our personnel:

• To create added value for the company’s shareholders by governing assets
• To supervise the operational entities connected to assets
• To develop personal know-how
• To maintain a supportive work atmosphere

In 2017, the average number of EPV Energy Group employees was 71. At the end of the year, the Group employed 68 persons, of whom:
• 43 employees served EPV Energy
• 3 employees served EPV Alueverkko
• 22 employees served Tornion Voima Oy
• Of the Group’s total personnel, 51 are officials and 17 employees